RSS

The Least Exciting Post This Year

12 Feb
6059123289_b799a7a8ca_z

if there was a tumbleweed blowing across here it would resemble my Skype social life

So I became modern yesterday and got myself Skype, soon added all my Facebook contacts and then sat there feeling sad as no one was online, it was pretty dire to be honest, I get the feeling I may possibly be the last person in the world (probably even after the monkeys) to have discovered this chat thing and everyone else has already left.  Maybe I should log back onto my MySpace (remember that), as well and complete the desolate fun.  So does anyone use this?  Or have I found myself in yet another derelict site that no one wants to build on? 

On a side note this is why I stick to books usually and rarely venture into ‘technology’.  When I’m around I make everything seem like a boring version of the film Tron which incidentally I loved it makes me wonder why I sully the already slighty murky name of telecommunications.  I’m not really sure what I’m blathering about today, normal service shall be resumed shortly I expect.

 
40 Comments

Posted by on 12/02/2013 in Eccentricities

 

Tags: , , , ,

40 responses to “The Least Exciting Post This Year

  1. Tom Gething

    12/02/2013 at 21:36

    I use it a lot to talk to family and friends, especially if they are overseas…it’ free!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      13/02/2013 at 15:52

      Freebies always make me happy, except for at take-aways I want free food not a calendar!

      Like

       
  2. readingwithrhythm

    12/02/2013 at 21:42

    I’m sorry you’re lonely. That picture looks like a fabulous place to me tho! A great place to run after tennis balls! We use Skype a lot here at our house. To visit with friends and family far away. And since we have a webcam I get to be in on calls too! We like Skype. But we don’t sit around and wait for it to happen.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      13/02/2013 at 15:55

      I tihnk I misunderstood it to be a magical place where people just came on on the off chance and chatted, I will feel quite important with all the appointment makings though. You’re right the photo looks better today, more peaceful than melancholy.

      Like

       
  3. Bumba

    12/02/2013 at 22:18

    Heartfelt sympathy from a non-connected, non-Facebook, no cell phone even, lone wolf iconoclast. Nothing wrong with that empty lot. Some company would be nice, true. But you don’t need social media.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      13/02/2013 at 15:43

      Perhaps a deckchair, a book and some beers would be just perfect. which is just what I shall do this evening, except sans deckchair and inside away from the snow you guys sent us over.

      Like

       
      • Bumba

        13/02/2013 at 15:54

        Hey, don’t blame me for the snow. I’m in Califiornia. And a little company would be nice, Steven. A hand to hold,. etc.

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          13/02/2013 at 15:56

          That would depend on who’s hand your holding, I imagine Brian Blessed to have a strong grip, for instance.

          Like

           
  4. Christina ~

    12/02/2013 at 22:20

    Oh Ste J…LOL I haven’t joined Skype either if that helps…wellll technically I have but not as a social media thingy…more like to talk to family back east and stuff like that. If it makes you feel better…I didn’t even ever have a MySpace page! lol 😉

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      13/02/2013 at 15:47

      You can have mine if you like lol. Technology is to much for me, I think I had the wrong idea about the random chat aspect of it.

      Like

       
  5. boomiebol

    13/02/2013 at 02:21

    I laughed out loud reading this lol. I am on Skype if ever you want to chat :). Boombus81.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      13/02/2013 at 15:48

      Added and chatted before reading this, fantastic!

      Like

       
  6. RoSy

    13/02/2013 at 03:29

    This is NOT the least exciting post of this year. I chuckled here & there throughout – especially when you mentioned YourSpace – LOL.
    I don’t have Skype. My kids use Facetime (same thing basically). But – the only time I’ve used it is when they initiate a call to someone else & pass it along to me.

    PS – Ohh-Ohh-Ahh-Ahh

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      13/02/2013 at 15:50

      it’s all a bit modern for me, glad to see that I am not the only person falling by the wayside. If everyone keeps talking where will the writing go? This thought (over thought and illogical thought) scares me.

      Like

       
  7. gargoylebruce

    13/02/2013 at 04:04

    At least you aren’t one of those embarrassingly early-adopters…I remember one or two diehards desperately trying to convince everyone to ditch facebook and go over to google+….then they had to pretend they were having much more fun over there without anyone else

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      13/02/2013 at 16:00

      ha, it’s the cross the pioneers of our age have to bear as the rest of us stubbornly refuse because ‘we don’t like change’. I’ll stick with the rest of the sheep on these matters.

      Like

       
  8. klumpigy

    13/02/2013 at 08:08

    Welcome to skype! Im sure your chat life would be as active as mine ( which mainly is calls from my dad telling me to move to africa) . Ah myspace, whatever became of that kid? Tron a great film, but did put me off video games for a while – evil plots are unfavorable 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      13/02/2013 at 16:14

      I’m not sure what happened with MySpace, one minute it was good then no one was on it any more, except bands for a bit. So far it has been active, Boomie kindly IM’d me so I didn’t feel like the only person left on the stock market just before the biggest ever crash of crashes. Africa is a ways away, it’s need internet access before I’d let you consider it.

      Like

       
  9. RebeccaScaglione - Love at First Book

    13/02/2013 at 15:38

    Skype is amazing but mainly when it’s a planned time to meet. I’m never on Skype normally, and I think that’s the same for most people. I usually talk to people on Skype when we schedule it in advance, or if someone is out of the country for months. For instance, my sister was in Israel for 5 months, so I was on Skype a lot because I knew she’d be on if she was available.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      13/02/2013 at 15:57

      That makes sense, I was treating it like some sort of video Facebook, still it’s good to have just in case.

      Like

       
  10. letizia

    13/02/2013 at 18:49

    I love the photo you included in this post; it really made me laugh! I use Skype and Facetime to connect with family and friends abroad, but like the others who have commented here, on an appointment based time to make things easier. But I think we all have some social media we feel isolated from at times, even if it’s intentional! I’m not on Facebook or twitter and sometimes feel like the last person on earth who isn’t.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      17/02/2013 at 19:22

      Well Facebook I find lowers my IQ every time I log in and see some of the inane things that people put. You are better off without I think. The quality of talk on WordPress is a lot better.

      Like

       
  11. 최다해 gongjumonica

    14/02/2013 at 07:05

    I don’t how you’ll judge me, but I find your situation funny. Sorry. I have Skype, but I rarely use it. I was once active in Skype when I had an LDR with my ex. But after that, there’s really nothing to use it for. There’s phone video call already, as well as some smartphone apps with free voice and video calls.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      17/02/2013 at 19:26

      That’s more technology than I could cope with lol, to date I have only used it once, but I hold out hopes of using it again.

      Like

       
      • 최다해 gongjumonica

        19/02/2013 at 04:09

        Hmm. Then I do hope you’ll use it again. Especially since you ninja-added me and I messaged you.

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          19/02/2013 at 17:05

          I need to reply to that and will do soon. I am more ninja than I imagined I was. I will use it and think of you when I do.

          Like

           
          • 최다해 gongjumonica

            20/02/2013 at 04:30

            I will be waiting for your message then. I imagine you wearing ninja attire as you do so. *laughs*

            Like

             
            • StetotheJ

              22/02/2013 at 17:20

              I ninja’d up today just for you, I got some odd looks in the streets so I kept to the shadows after that, that is when it occurred to me, ninja’s hide in the shadows because they have low self esteem.

              Like

               
  12. Claire 'Word by Word'

    14/02/2013 at 10:42

    Not a great fan of being instantly accessible via image projection, but it is true skype is excellent for contact with people abroad, I sometimes have skype meetings with my 2 colleagues who are based in London, easier than the telephone and also family in NZ, but we usually arrange the call. So it’s really an alternative to the telephone, and no, not something we sit in front of and wait for it to ring! 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      17/02/2013 at 19:11

      Maybe we should start a book Skype forum with popcorn! I imagine it being a tad raucous.

      Like

       
  13. readinpleasure

    14/02/2013 at 14:11

    LOL I’m not on skype. I don’t even know how it works. My friends here say it is easy but I guess I feel better seeing them in the flesh. 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      17/02/2013 at 19:10

      Face to face is always the best, I assure you to a technophobe like me it was really easy to get to grips with, I have more issues with WordPress and that’s not hard to operate so you will do fine, I assure you.

      Like

       
  14. LuAnn

    16/02/2013 at 15:24

    We also use it to speak to family and friends who are out of the country.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      17/02/2013 at 19:09

      As I shall now attempt to do the same, it’s more simple to get to grips with than i imagined.

      Like

       
      • LuAnn

        18/02/2013 at 13:03

        It was great when we were traveling throughout Mexico.

        Like

         
  15. Paul

    26/02/2013 at 20:24

    You seem much more technologically advanced than me. When I lived in Madrid skype allowed me to talk with my family every day.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      27/02/2013 at 18:34

      I still struggle with my phone, but I think it is because I have fat fingers. Skype is definitely a boon for those overseas chats.

      Like

       
  16. pennycoho

    03/03/2013 at 20:49

    Well you should be somewhat gratified that there are more than a few who feel exactly like you when it comes to certain modes of technological communication SteJ. I being another one, although I do, of necessity, utilize same, as needs be.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      03/03/2013 at 21:32

      Unlike most blokes I don’t enjoy tinkering with technology but when I attempt too, it ends in abjact failure anyway. That and I have to sort Skype out as half the files in the computer got mangled by some sort of virus.

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
