RSS

The Story of San Michele – Axel Munthe

11 Jan

  Munthe spent many years working as a doctor in Southern Italy, labouring unstintingly during typhus, cholera and earthquake disasters. It was during this period that he came across the ruined Tiberian villa of San Michele, perched high above the glittering Bay of Naples on Capri. With the help of Mastro Nicola and his three sons, and with only a charcoal sketch roughly drawn on a garden wall to guide them, Munthe devoted himself to rebuilding the house and chapel. Over five long summers they toiled under a sapphire-blue sky, their mad-cap project leading them to buried skeletons and ancient coins, and to hilarious encounters with a rich cast of vividly-drawn villagers.

Seeing this for the first time in a bookshop I thought I knew what I would be getting and that would be, a lovely jaunt through a wonderful mediterranean island, where lots of magic and mystery will be uncovered as well as many eccentric and lovable locals.  The cover and read up on the book didn’t dissuade me of this folly at all.

We get surprisingly little of the above, although what we do get of it, is as sublime as you would expect, with the beauty of the landscape and architecture melded almost seamlessly with glorious Roman history.  What we do get is the curiously eclectic life of Axel Munthe which involves earthquakes, cholera and dogs being shot in the face, to mention just a few of the adventures within, as well as a  nice cross section of different societies and cultures.

Once I had adjusted to this new direction that the book was taking, it became an enjoyable read, probably one of the best travel books I have had the pleasure of perusing, although it transcends genres the more you think about it.   It has everything, it’s odd, whimsical, a surprisingly honest portrayal of the people Munthe has met and the places he has been.

It isn’t the lighthearted romp that the cover would have you believe either.  Although the overall style is a fusion of the playful and analytical ,it is sometimes surprisingly brutal and has enough tragedy to make you appreciate life. Essentially its very much a work of its time (mid 1800’s to the mid 1900’s).

it’s an interesting book, not quite an oddity but not easy to classify either but always diverse and entertaining, taking in as it does a plethora of places, and Peoples from all classes in a number of countries.  Overall it is a nice overview of the back and front end of two different centuries and a reminder of how cultures, customs and medicines have evolved.  Besides anyone who favours animals over people must be the on the right track in my opinion.

There is one thing that annoyed me and that was the dubious imaginative dialogue he has with himself, I appreciate artistic licence but it detracts from a work that is very impressive.  This is a personal issue and I’m sure you fine readers will make up your own mind so don’t let this put you off reading what is a fine and varied and interesting book.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on 11/01/2013 in Travel

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “The Story of San Michele – Axel Munthe

  1. letizia

    11/01/2013 at 20:46

    I have a black and white postcard of him on one of my library shelves: he’s sitting in a doorway, eyes closed, enjoying the sun, surrounded by four dogs. A lovely way to spend the afternoon if you ask me.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      14/01/2013 at 16:12

      Certainly is, I would love a dog. Munthe sounds like an interesting bloke, I’d love to be multilingual and in a job worthwhile. Maverick author does sound romantic though, so I may plump for that.

      Like

       
  2. RebeccaScaglione

    12/01/2013 at 00:05

    You’ve left me torn. . . I’ll have to find an excerpt and try to read a little myself before making a decision!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      14/01/2013 at 16:08

      it is a funny old book in the way it is presented a a heartwarming tale, but nonetheless it’s something different and that’s nice in this day and age.

      Like

       
  3. readinpleasure

    12/01/2013 at 01:17

    A fine review

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      14/01/2013 at 16:13

      Thank you, it’s been a while since I read the book, so I hope I was accurate enough.

      Like

       
  4. Nihar Pradhan

    15/08/2015 at 11:37

    This is one of my favorite book and I haven’t seen many who have read it and it does provide a different perspective, a lovely mix of magic and mystery…
    I am loving your post. You have a wonderful array of book review and beautiful take on so many books from classic to contemporary.
    😀

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      16/08/2015 at 20:00

      Thank you so much and welcome to the blog. There are certain books that seem to be popular yet not many people seem to have read which always perplexes me…it’s taken me years of reading to be able to analyse books as I do and I love to read others’ takes on books as each and everyone has some unique facets that make me think of books in a different light.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Nihar Pradhan

        17/08/2015 at 17:16

        Yes, it is true..many good books is not known and not even read by many.
        I keep looking for such books which I have never heard and would love to read such hidden treasures.
        Each book has its own personality and it’s style and every time we read such variety and depth we learn something totally new…
        😀

        Like

         

Tell me stuff...

 
