RSS

Post Dream Post

05 Jan

Bear with me it’s just gone 3:10 in the AM and I’m writing this for a post later on this afternoon which in my infinite wisdom I probably won’t edit at a better time of day, it begins thusly:

Whilst attempting to emulate Martin Luther King and have a dream, whilst at the same time be as non fussy about it, in the process as Joseph, he of the technicoloured dream coat (‘any dream will do’),  I hit upon a strange nostalgic dream, that covered a varied amount of things.

Cathedral

There was the bustling city centre, in which two of the team from the show House wanted to open a side line business in the form of a grocery but the veg they bought was all horrible, they magically at some point in the next scene turned into happy indians who made a Bollywood style song and dance about an idea they had and managed to change the very veg product they were selling and make it into flowers that magically grow on a metal rail coated in vaseline.

That changed to a dream I’ve had before which employed the faintly harrowing old style Disney cartoon type animation, to depict a rich family, possibly some royalty, with a large amount of gold in the top room of a cathedral when fire breaks out, as the floor becomes structurally week and the gold begins to fall through, I heard lots of worryingly realistic screaming at this point, the gold is eventually all dragged into the inferno followed by the rich brood and ids then depicted by a cartoon avalanche sequence where everything and everyone is consumed by firey gold and not in a fun way.

Happily this was followed by a strange holiday based on Amsterdam and possibly Nottingham city centre, in which many things only familiar to me in dreams were referenced and a wedding./christmas party in which some of my top real life friends were involved. I don’t recall an actual wedding but many gifts were exchanged and a bridesmaid asked if I had any old classics in a red cover that had to be battered so she could sell them to an antiques sealer for £15.  I heard her arrange this with the dealer then pretended not to have heard just so she’d explain it again. Dream me is annoying like that it would seem. I hasten to add that I was not the one getting married, not that that makes a difference.  Still the bridesmaid in question was sick on my hand because she had low sugar so I suppose there is such a thing as dream karma.

This was followed by the final sequence of being in a university campus on the edge of change,with more people and things real and ethereal being referenced before being whisked away to sign some papers ending my formal education.  Quite what was going on I don’t know but it made sense at the time.

This was the odd bit though and perhaps the crux of the dream for me:  the man who brought the papers remembered seeing me 10 years ago when we first co=signed them and as we signed again in the same places we reminiscenced about what the place (a variation on my last house) had been like and how a lot of things had of course changed and people moved on.  In the end I signed with a deep sorrow and as I paused after the final date which oddly was the year ’05 I became a freeze frame like the end of so many TV series.  Or the one that sticks in my memory the most, The End of the film Planes, Trains and Automobiles as I wasn’t expecting such a quick finale to that particular bit of fine filmage.

so that is my dream and this is why I am writing (or wrote as it shall be when you read this). the inevitable power of melancholy you get from a real or this case imagined finishing of things is horrible. I don’t buy all this exciting look to the future stuff. All the good stuff lost is sad and the few things that tie the past and present still going on look pitiful alone in the vast spaces of emptiness between.  That could be my natural cynicism taking over, so to balance that out I have the next paragraph.

spiral-dreamscapes-ester-rogers

A good approximation of what I imagine it is like to dream.

It’d odd, I woke up wanting to capture that lovely sense of melancholy tinged with happiness about all those awesome people I know and have now spoilt it by focusing on  the loss of the thing.  But like the dream everything fades from memory so it’s nice that our minds retain these memories tucked away and if we are lucky that wonderful piece of thinking (or remembering) matter retains all our fun, bizarre and sometimes faintly sinister dream wanderings.

Anyway it’s 3:35 now and I realised I hit caps lock somewhere around paragraph three, so I will take another seeming age to redo this post and you shall have it decently written later today, although I secretly still believe it is not tomorrow until my stupid alarm goes off at an equally stupid time.

Sometimes I wish it would be nice to stop thinking just for a little bit but that is the way I am.  Goodnight/afternoon and a special thanks to those people who appeared in my dream they are in no particular order, Ricky & Maxine Boot, Kev Boot, Mark Denby, Charlotte Winfield and Tom Robinson and Lorraine Bagshaw (who inspired these dreams with adventures in Holland and Scotland) whilst not forgetting Sarah Roberts, (my very brief housemate at dream university, real life worker in the same building who is also credited with reminding me of Maz from school  (I forget her full real name off-hand)  You guys rock, even in dreams.  I am equally thankful those dreams were not of a really weird nature as it would be horrible to scar oneself for life.

 
38 Comments

Posted by on 05/01/2013 in Melancholy

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

38 responses to “Post Dream Post

  1. letizia

    05/01/2013 at 19:48

    I just love your writing and this glimpse into your subconscious was a real treat 🙂 Definitely a few stories in there!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      05/01/2013 at 21:34

      It is scary to think that I was compelled to write this up as soon as I woke up. It was a strange sort of happy melancholy that necessitated it. I wish I remembered my dreams more now. There shall be more original Ste J works coming soon!

      Like

       
  2. Anonymous

    05/01/2013 at 23:26

    I know a good Jungian therapist who can help with this sort of thing…..;)

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      07/01/2013 at 18:17

      I’ll bear that in mind although the state of my mental innards could ruin people.

      Like

       
  3. George Collingwood

    08/01/2013 at 20:54

    That’s an interesting dream you had and well written up, I think that my dreams come in layers and if I have one weird or unsettling dream there will be a slightly worse one just out of sight underneath it. That may not seem like an encouraging thought, but on the other hand I’m pretty sure that this weird business of bottomless, many layered dreams has a fundamental connection with the creative process.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      11/01/2013 at 17:33

      Well it’s sure given me a few ideas to play around with, if only dreams were understood it’d help but take all the romance out of it. I’m impressed you thinbk it well written, that was a 3 o’clock in the morning haze I had to battle through to get any of it down fast enough, thank you all the same, I love a good compliment.

      Like

       
  4. pennycoho

    11/01/2013 at 04:19

    Great dream. Loved it! Several different potential plots for books in there! 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      11/01/2013 at 17:30

      You are not the first to say so, I shall concoct something akin to Frankenstein’s monster and then work on it.

      Like

       
      • pennycoho

        12/01/2013 at 23:10

        Of course you will, in the offhandedly brilliant manner than you do so well!

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          14/01/2013 at 16:19

          Funnily enough, I have ended up with a work in progress, funny how things work out. More details as it fleshes out though.

          Like

           
  5. Christina ~

    14/01/2013 at 01:32

    Seems to me there are many a great authors….one in particular comes to mind…who write from their dreams. Kind of frightening actually…Stephen King….crazy dreams he had!!! I’m rambling….the point is thank you for sharing this…I do so enjoy your thoughts on random things…you make everything enjoyable! 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      14/01/2013 at 16:23

      Thank you, I have been known to frequently come out with very odd things unprompted. I remember David Lynch basing the Red Room scene in Twin Peaks on one of his dreams, now there is an interesting man. I like your rambling, keep it up please.

      Like

       
      • Christina ~

        15/01/2013 at 21:23

        Oh no no…haha I will ramble away and decimate your incredible blog! 😀 Okay…so maybe I can’t help it….I just ramble….probably why I don’t use proper punctuation and just stream words and thoughts together with “…..” lol 🙂

        P.S. For what it’s worth I know those are ellipses and how to use proper punctuation….I just don’t want to 😉

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          18/01/2013 at 12:32

          Break the rules! English is a language without proper rules anyway, i mean who says we will start talking in this language but make it up as we go along? So I am glad you have become a language anarchist. For what its worth, your stream of consciousness style always makes your thought processes feel more natural and off the cuff. I like that.

          Like

           
          • Christina ~

            20/01/2013 at 03:17

            Ha!! I love that….language anarchist 😀 !! Thank you….I guess that is how I write…just sort of all spills out at once…I’m glad I can bring you along my thought process….you’re awesome to have on my little adventure 😀

            Like

             
            • StetotheJ

              20/01/2013 at 20:01

              I shall be the Sam to your Frodo, but I shall be a heterosexual unlike the Fat Hobbit.

              Like

               
              • Christina ~

                08/02/2013 at 22:08

                So sorry for my lateness in responding. LOL! Have to admit I have laughed so hard at this 😀 We shall journey on then my friend…I am honored to have so cool a travel companion!! You bring the lembas okay? 😉

                Like

                 
                • StetotheJ

                  09/02/2013 at 12:17

                  I shall, I shall also bring my potatoes (boil ’em, mash ’em, stick ’em in a stew). I think we should take the scenic route though, much better than just trying to get straight there.

                  Like

                   
                  • Christina ~

                    12/02/2013 at 20:33

                    Most definitely the scenic route!! Otherwise…what would be the point? 😀 Yay….lembas and potatoes…what else would we need?!

                    Like

                     
                    • StetotheJ

                      12/02/2013 at 20:43

                      A little mutant thing to drive us apart, but by gosh our friendship will hold fast! Hairy feet, of course and some shire weed so we can float instead of walking. And speaking of emails, I belatedly got yours and replied to it so if you haven’t looked you have a shiny new Stemail in your inbox.

                      Like

                       
                    • Christina ~

                      12/02/2013 at 22:24

                      LOL Of course! How could I have forgotten the antagonist? Especially a mutant antagonist?!?! Oh Yes! No mutant shall come between us and our shire weed!! lol 😀 Ooo….yay! A shiny new Stemail!! I shall go this very moment!

                      Like

                       
                    • StetotheJ

                      13/02/2013 at 16:06

                      We can say to this mutant fellow, ‘You shall not pass (to get to our weed)’, I don’t think that one has been used before.

                      Like

                       
                    • Christina ~

                      28/02/2013 at 07:36

                      LOL I’m feeling safe in saying you are right…in that that phrase probably hasn’t been used before. I shall use my wicked skills at stick shaking if said mutant tries any funny business…or I may just laugh at it…I haven’t decided yet…

                      Like

                       
                    • StetotheJ

                      01/03/2013 at 22:04

                      I shall stand to the side and heckle it in that case. You know beer, it comes in PINTS, I think we should get one!

                      Like

                       
  6. 최다해 gongjumonica

    15/01/2013 at 06:47

    Oh, Steve! I rarely dream these days and if I do, I usually forget them. You are lucky (?) to remember the details of yours.

    You write so well, with a bit of humor here and there. Because of you (and my colleague who pitied me enough to lend her book), I am now reading Life of Pi. I don’t know how you’ll take it, but you somehow write like him. 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      18/01/2013 at 12:16

      I enjoyed that book, the premise didn’t impress me but the writing did. I assume this is how people generally view my blog also. I shall take it as a compliment, it’s always nice to know I amuse people too, even if I have to get up at three in the morning to do so. Nothing is to much for you guys.

      Like

       
      • 최다해 gongjumonica

        20/01/2013 at 01:20

        I am still reading it and enjoying doing so. Sorry to disagree with you, but both your premise/topics and writing are impressive! A dream post is good for readers, but I will still read your site even if you did’t write it at the wee hours of the morning. Get some sleep, Steve! 😀

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          20/01/2013 at 20:14

          I was at it again last night, it’s not just people who i have only met once, now it is bloggers whom I haven’t met. Not sure what’s going on in my head but it is probably not healthy.

          I should say I read Pi years ago, maybe seven years ago and wasn’t as much into the idea of magical realism as I have since become. I would appreciate it more now if I read it, methinks.

          Like

           
          • 최다해 gongjumonica

            21/01/2013 at 07:20

            Hmm. I don’t know what to say. I am not a dream interpreter, but my Psych prof before once told us that sometimes, dreams are suppressed emotions. So if you are dreaming of bloggers you haven’t met, perhaps consciously you wanted to meet them but immediately cancelled the idea. Hahaha.

            I don’t know if this will pacify your mind, but if dreaming with your blogger friends is unhealthy, I don’t know how to categorize my dream with Powerpuff Girls and Harry Potter chasing me.

            Like

             
            • StetotheJ

              24/01/2013 at 20:13

              Wow, that is one heck of a clash of fictional characters there. I hope you managed to get away from them?! I’d love to meet you guys for a face to face chat, that would be really exciting. I will be doing a video blog some point this year so you will get to hear my voice and see me in action with my passionate book head on.

              Like

               
              • 최다해 gongjumonica

                27/01/2013 at 10:26

                I forgot hot it ended already. Unlike you, I always tend to forget my dreams. Unfortunately, nightmares have the opposite effect. Face to face chat? How?

                Whoa, a video blog? Are you going to do a book reading or something? Yay! I will be looking forward to it. This is a secret, but I like hearing you Englishmen speak.

                Like

                 
                • StetotheJ

                  27/01/2013 at 16:21

                  I thought I may do a book review or perhaps just a general chat about whatever occurs to me at the time. I hope I don’t disappoint you with my accent, I’m not one of those people who stick an extra ‘R’ into words like bath and path. There seems to be a lot of clichéd English accents in films and I am not at all like any of them I don’t think.

                  Like

                   
                  • 최다해 gongjumonica

                    30/01/2013 at 08:39

                    Oh, you don’t have that particular accent? You robbed me of surprise and disappointment on that specific day by telling this to me now haha.

                    A general chat sounds nice! And a tutorial.

                    Like

                     
                    • StetotheJ

                      01/02/2013 at 14:27

                      It is odd but Mansfield is situated between two cities, Nottingham (14 miles south) and Sheffield (19 miles north), each has differing accent and we, almost in the middle have a totally different accent too. Our accent is known all around England, which seems worrying to me. You learn something new everyday, no matter how boring.

                      Like

                       
                    • 최다해 gongjumonica

                      04/02/2013 at 04:37

                      At least I learn something. Who knows when that information can be applied. My country is the same. We are divided in different regions and people have different dialects (entirely different language!) so it is common to see people not understanding each other. As I grew up in the capital, I have learned the national language only.

                      Like

                       
                    • StetotheJ

                      05/02/2013 at 16:15

                      well if you say to people ‘ayup mi duck’ that is a traditional greeting from ’round these parts, so now you can impress your friends with your dialectic nature.

                      Like

                       
                    • 최다해 gongjumonica

                      08/02/2013 at 07:00

                      Eh? And how to pronounce it in a correct dialect accent? Great. Now I can add this to my ever-growing number of talents and skills.

                      Like

                       

Tell me stuff...

 
