RSS

New Year, New Challenge

29 Dec

IMG0003Here is a slightly wonky picture (I like jaunty angles) of two shelves of a book case, one of my bookcases to be precise and it needs filling, partly with books I already own but haven’t got around to bringing down from the other house yet and partly with your suggestions.

My new challenge for 2013 is to read not only the books I got as gifts for Christmas and birthday but to read all those good books that you guys can recommend to me, I already have Anna Karenina on the list, https://bookmust.wordpress.com/books-to-be-read-in-2013/ as well as the above and I will fill it up with the books I own, that really should have read by now, as time goes by so keep checking back if it is of interest to you.

Top billing will go to the books I own first, not that you know what I own, but that’s part of the pot luck fun.  However if I get to a decent second hand bookshop, I will take a list with all the other books you’ve recommended that I don’t own and do my utmost to seek them out.

I will review each one as well, so you will be able to see at a glance which books I have read and their appropriate links.  I  know I can rely on you guys to come up with a delightfully eclectic mix for me to devour.

 
41 Comments

Posted by on 29/12/2012 in Lists/Ephemera

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

41 responses to “New Year, New Challenge

  1. letizia

    29/12/2012 at 13:20

    So lovely to see your shelves filling up again! And what a wonderfully fun project ahead of you 🙂

    I see that you have Palin’s book on Brazil. I enjoyed his other travel books (and associated tv shows) but didn’t read/see the one on Brazil, but I lived in Brazil for years so I’m quite curious. I didn’t even know he did a series in Brazil (ever since I moved to America, I’ve lost touch with some British shows). So I was excited to see that and will try to hunt that down!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      29/12/2012 at 13:26

      it’s his newest book only came out last October I think, there was a TV show as well so they should be easy to get hold of. I have all the other Palin books but haven’t read them all yet, his relaxed views on things and gentle ribbing is an essential cornerstone of the whole travel genre for me.

      You seem well travelled yourself, is there no book forthcoming from your good self (in any genre)? I would make that a must for my shelves, mos’ def as the kids say, or did years ago.

      Like

       
      • letizia

        29/12/2012 at 13:40

        October, well that’s recent! Maybe I can find clips online and then get the book in the library. I agree, his style and humour are a perfect combination. I’ve only written dry-ish academic texts (I’m a uni prof) but hope to have enough time soon to try my hand at more engaging writing. It’s hard to find the time! (one of the reasons I started a blog- to give myself some creative freedom…). And you…. you teased us with that wonderful first scene a while back, have you had a chance to develop it despite the move, etc?

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          29/12/2012 at 13:52

          You remembered! I have been sowing fleshing out a plot, at one point it got so whimsical that I thought I’d lost the plot so I have restarted the planning, and i have written a little bit more, I am hoping to finish that and post something soon. It got away from me for a bit but I shall get right on it.

          Your academic texts, are they to impenetrable for the lay person? As I am a fan of all things academic if it helps me to understand things.

          There are a few Brazil trailers about, http://www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/travelvideo/9573112/Michael-Palins-Brazil-episode-one-preview.html there are some other episode trailers as well I believe but this is episode one.

          Like

           
          • letizia

            29/12/2012 at 14:00

            Oooh, thank you! I can’t wait to watch it!

            The academic writing isn’t palatable to the layman but I promise to post an announcement if/when I get around to publishing some more normal writing 🙂

            That’s great to hear that you’re still working on that story- you have real talent so whether you show it to us in pieces or at the end, we’ll be dazzled all the same!

            If I don’t get a chance to comment before…. Happy New Year!

            Like

             
            • StetotheJ

              29/12/2012 at 14:06

              And a huge and excitement filled Happy New Year to you too! A lot of people i know who don’t read all say they would read something that I had written, if I give them a free copy and sign it, so I shall have to check ebay a lot if I do get published. I’m up for self publishing too, but wither way you shall be kept in the loop.

              I look forward to the announcement if and when it arrives, I know of a blogger, that would be interested in reviewing it for you, he looks great in a party hat too and he is me. I failed subtlety in school.

              Like

               
  2. evilnymphstuff

    29/12/2012 at 15:41

    I bet you can’t wait to fill these! And that’s a great challenge! Good luck, I’m sure you’ll read all on your list… and more! Happy new year 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      29/12/2012 at 16:15

      Either that or I will be so inundated with suggestions I will have to hide all year just to read them, not that that is a bad thing of course. I am sure it will be a good year, I hope you have an absolutely splendiferous New year as well.

      Like

       
  3. quirkybooks

    29/12/2012 at 21:22

    I have nominated you for the Blog Of The Year 2012 Award. I think your blog is awesome. Here is the link to your award nomination. http://quirkybooks.wordpress.com/2012/12/29/quirkybooks-third-blog-of-the-year-2012-award/ Congratulations.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      31/12/2012 at 10:47

      wow this is an honour, I appreciate all the kind things you say about me, I shall do my best to keep up the standard.

      Like

       
      • quirkybooks

        02/01/2013 at 23:04

        I am sure that will be no problem as it will all come naturally to you.

        Like

         
  4. renxkyoko

    29/12/2012 at 22:53

    I ‘m a bit embarassed about my book preferences. if you can check out my blog “Tagged Part 2 and some random musings” and ” I’ve been tagged , I have photos of some books that I own. There’s one there ” Heavy Duty Bathroom Reader, ha ha ha that I bought at Costco and Steven Hawking’s Theory of Everything…. and I love to read The Encyclopedia Brittanica, and some other books of this kind. I’m into mystery books, nothing high brow. 6.6

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      31/12/2012 at 10:46

      Nothing wrong with an eclectic mix of books, I kiss encyclopedias, the internet ruined that. I would love to own a set. next to my Dickens collection it would look great and elevate my intellectual standing way higher than i deserve lol.

      Like

       
  5. RebeccaScaglione

    30/12/2012 at 01:52

    So, I’m the crazy person asking: What Stephen King novel is that??? 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      31/12/2012 at 10:40

      It is Everything’s Eventual, they have changed all the covers again which is annoying as they look better on the bookshelves in those old nel covers. It’s there primarily for the short story which is Dark Tower based, but I do enjoy King anyway so I’m sure I shall devour the rest of it in a quick fashion.

      Like

       
      • RebeccaScaglione

        31/12/2012 at 18:21

        Oooooh! I have an older edition of the book, so my cover looks much different.

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          02/01/2013 at 19:07

          I prefer the older editions, the ones with the different coloured bands around the bottom looked nice on my shelf but now I three types of King cover. I crave unifortmity! I sound like a baddie in 1984.

          Like

           
          • RebeccaScaglione

            03/01/2013 at 18:36

            Well you could always print out your own paper covers. I’ve seen those on DIY websites and they look amazing. But that’s a project in itself, and probably only if you’re SUPER OCD about it! 🙂

            BTW, I could totally see myself doing it for some books at some point, so what does that say about me? A little OCD I guess! 🙂

            Like

             
            • StetotheJ

              04/01/2013 at 19:58

              OCD is fashionable these days so we are in good company, printing out my own covers may just be a bit to far for me though. people already worry about my sanity as it is.

              Like

               
  6. pennycoho

    30/12/2012 at 03:21

    I have a few thoughts on books that you might find intriguing, will think on this more to make sure they are worthy of a read from you! A most Happy New Year SteJ, with much affection!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      31/12/2012 at 10:34

      I shall look forward to some choose literary treats! For a guy who enjoys Night of the Crabs, it seems most books will be somewhat worthy of me lol. A huge Happy New year to you too! May it be the best year since your last best year but then better by that amount again!

      Like

       
      • pennycoho

        31/12/2012 at 23:41

        Wow that’s perfect SteJ! Love it, the best New Years wishes I’ve had yet, ditto to you!

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          02/01/2013 at 19:15

          I made that up all by myself, it only took a month of solitude and much Jack Daniels, honest!

          Like

           
          • pennycoho

            02/01/2013 at 19:17

            Jack Daniels would explain it then! A month of solitude not so much, well maybe a little unless you were also reading!

            Like

             
            • StetotheJ

              02/01/2013 at 19:25

              I would give someone elses right arm to have that much free reading time, I’d throw in their shoes too.

              Like

               
              • pennycoho

                02/01/2013 at 19:35

                Yes I’m good with that flow, maybe a few someone’s body parts. Okay that sounds just awful! Good thought though in principle.

                Like

                 
                • StetotheJ

                  02/01/2013 at 19:39

                  It is yet to be perfected, a bit like Dr Frankenstein, he was a rum ‘un.

                  Like

                   
                  • pennycoho

                    02/01/2013 at 19:41

                    He just wasn’t well understood. You know “A Stranger in a Strange Land”.

                    Like

                     
                    • StetotheJ

                      02/01/2013 at 19:47

                      I feel like that sometimes, with all this modern music and ring tones.

                      Like

                       
                    • pennycoho

                      02/01/2013 at 19:52

                      That’s also a title from one of my favorite sci-fi authors Robert Heinlein. A great read!

                      Like

                       
                    • StetotheJ

                      02/01/2013 at 20:21

                      I thought it sounded familiar, you have mentioned that before. I have a decent memory but only for books and affiliated stuff.

                      Like

                       
                    • pennycoho

                      02/01/2013 at 22:14

                      Of course!

                      Like

                       
  7. Claire 'Word by Word'

    30/12/2012 at 09:41

    At least The Night Circus looks good on the shelf!

    I am going to recommend an old favourite of mine that I am considering rereading, wondering if I will still love it as much today as did when I read it. So write on your list Martin Booth’s The Industry of Souls. It has a slightly scary cover, but I think that might appeal to you anyway.

    And as I see you already have Louis de Bernières on the shelf, I must suggest that if you come across it, because it’s also one of my favourite books ever, do read his splendid Birds Without Wings.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      31/12/2012 at 10:32

      Two books I have never heard of but shall check out. If I get hold of either or preferably both, I shall add them to the list. I do enjoy the books you pick and I’m looking forward to your views on A Month in the Country, such an underrated book. Happy New Year to you!!!

      Like

       
  8. 최다해 gongjumonica

    31/12/2012 at 19:23

    Hi Hett…Steve! *grinning from ear to ear* I don’t like seeing shelves with spaces. The ADHD (self-diagnosed) in me makes me want to go out to the nearest book store and have a haul. Hey, we must fill your shelf! 🙂 I’m not sure if there’s something I can suggest since you read more than I can so I don’t know really.

    Anyway, just enjoy the holidays first. Happy New Year~

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      02/01/2013 at 19:13

      Anytime you need an excuse to spend on books, although I bet you have lots already stored up for just such an occasion. I can imagine book buying with you to be a fun experience. we would feed off of each others excitement and be bouncing all over the shop. The shelves are filling quite nicely now though, thankfully for your ADHD!!

      Like

       
      • 최다해 gongjumonica

        03/01/2013 at 08:38

        Aha! I forgot to mention that aside from ADHD, I also have greed! Whenever I go to bookshops, I always wish it is mine. Not only once did it came to me that perhaps I am the lost daughter of the owner haha! I would never have enough books!

        Oh, book shopping together will be fun I am sure! I lose sense of propriety. I stand on tiptoes to reach books in high shelves, or sit in not-so-clean floor of book stores to read the titles more comfortably. 🙂

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          04/01/2013 at 20:23

          Haha, I like it. I find myself in the dark corners using my phone as a torch to see the spines in the furthest recesses. I would gladly be a gentleman and reach the highest books for you. I wonder if we would end up fighting over a book at any time.

          Like

           
          • 최다해 gongjumonica

            11/01/2013 at 15:45

            Aha! I do that, too! Well, I use my phone as a part-time flashiight in most cases. Hey, I thought gentlemen died after the Triassic era? Well, thanks for the thought. I am short (or petite) so you have to do a lot of shelves reaching. Hmm perhaps we would fight over a book though you would let me win. (haha the confidence!)

            Like

             
            • StetotheJ

              11/01/2013 at 17:46

              I am the lone chap flying the flag for gentleman-ness, it would be an honour to get the books for you and I enjoy reaching for things, that is a little known fact about me, I’m not weird honest, lol. I probably would let you win because of my gentlman gene unless it was a book that I had to have then there would be plenty of scuffling.

              Like

               

Tell me stuff...

 
