RSS

Playing For Pizza – John Grisham

28 Dec

Playing for PizzaAfter all the recent festivities, a nice relaxing book will suffice for today,  although the mention of food, after the monumental intake I have recently intook may be pushing it a bit.

The plot of this short and easy read, centres around Rick Dockery, a quarterback who, after one extremely dodgy performance to many, ends up unemployed with no prospect of a job in the NFL.

Not to worry though, Rick’s agent Arnie manages to get Rick a job, the only problem being that it is in Italy with the ‘Mighty Panther of parma.  Much heartwarming things then happen.

If, like me, you have no clue about the rules of American Football are not even interested in the game, then don’t let this put you off.  all regulations and technical stuff is kept to a minimum and the descriptions of games make it easy to understand or work out the rules without having to go into the minutiae of the complexities of the sport.

Even a novice to American sports like myself is well aware of how primitive all the European leagues are, when compared to the shining lights that grace all the sports on the other side of the pond be it NHL, NFL or the other one.   So the impact of the culture shock that Rick experiences adds extra flavour to the story.

At 308 pages, the lack of sporting detail is a welcome thing.  The focus is on how Rick deals with the new culture, language, the locals and all the food that is on offer.  Not to mention how he copes with his team mates and his need to use his experience to help guide the team to a decent position in the league.   It must like living in a foreign country to him.

Like all Grisham’s work, this is a page turner with the odd gentle twist to keep it going and also like his other works it doesn’t require a lot of concentration or cerebral effort on your part.  I managed to read half of it at the pub, whilst everyone else was watching the football (soccer).  Why I wasn’t watching the match with everyone else i don’t know.

 
21 Comments

Posted by on 28/12/2012 in Sport

 

Tags: , , , , ,

21 responses to “Playing For Pizza – John Grisham

  1. readinpleasure

    28/12/2012 at 18:19

    I am a Grisham fan, and I may just read it if I lay hands on a copy. Wonderful review.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      29/12/2012 at 13:13

      A lot of Grishma fans don’t seem to be aware of this, it’s different from his other works yet retains his style. I shall start looking for more ‘obscure’ books by authors now.

      Like

       
  2. boomiebol

    28/12/2012 at 20:01

    I am a huge Grisham fan but haven’t read this

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      29/12/2012 at 13:16

      You and a lot of other fans it seems, I wasn’t aware of it until my American Football loving friend Iain badgered me to read it. If Mr Grisham’s sales go up and he reads this, a copy of next book for me to review would not go amiss.

      Like

       
  3. gargoylebruce

    28/12/2012 at 21:58

    The name Rick Dockery is just crying out to be spoonerised…..

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      29/12/2012 at 13:14

      Haha, you can’t beat a good Spoonerism, it may seem sad but I have spent quite a bit of time looking for humourous Spoonerisms in books, nothing so far. (Sad face)

      Like

       
  4. renxkyoko

    29/12/2012 at 02:55

    I’ve read quite a few books by Grisham. I don’t know if I like him or not.

    Happy new Year.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      29/12/2012 at 13:19

      me neither, the stories are alright with the twists and turns but they don’t seem to enthrall me, perhaps we expect to much from him in terms of depth. A very happy new year with lots of exciting stuff to you too.

      Like

       
  5. Claire 'Word by Word'

    29/12/2012 at 07:37

    Reading at the pub with a match going on, be careful you might find someone there just like you who notices 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      29/12/2012 at 13:32

      A lady noticing and being interested seems very rare in this town. There are only about three people who seem to read in public. Still if reading can be seen as trying to impress a potential love interest then I am quite happy for the excuse. The match was fairly dull though, if it would have been a corker, I may have torn myself away from the book about the ‘wrong kind’ of football.

      Like

       
      • Claire 'Word by Word'

        29/12/2012 at 14:07

        Maybe try another pub or a night circus 🙂

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          29/12/2012 at 14:10

          I shall try both, just for you. That’s how nice I am.

          Like

           
          • Claire 'Word by Word'

            29/12/2012 at 14:40

            Take your notebook and pen too.

            Like

             
            • StetotheJ

              29/12/2012 at 14:42

              of course, I may end up having another ‘action’ shot of me reading and note taking, now with added facial hair, I left it on in case Movember happens again next year.

              Like

               
  6. RebeccaScaglione

    30/12/2012 at 01:55

    My husband and I like to read Grisham (he’s one of the few authors we both will read) but I started Playing for Pizza and it just totally was not me. I prefer his courtroom drama books.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      31/12/2012 at 10:38

      It is a whole different ball game, I won’t ask you to excuse that pun, I shall just hang my head in shame. Have a great New years.

      Like

       
  7. LuAnn

    30/12/2012 at 20:22

    I didn’t know Grisham wrote such a book. I will have to give it a look. Thanks! 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      31/12/2012 at 10:27

      It seems more well known in Europe than America, it’s a strange mix between a travel and sports book but is something different. Glad to help you find something a tad obscure. Have a great New Years

      Like

       
      • LuAnn

        31/12/2012 at 15:19

        Happy New Year and happy reading to you Set J. 🙂

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          02/01/2013 at 19:03

          And the same to you, and with extra happy travelling and shoes, you can never have to many good pairs of shoes.

          Like

           

Tell me stuff...

 
