RSS

Blog Post in which I don’t mention meeting a cat, locking your housemate in the house by accident and drinking from a humourous mug

19 Dec

Today, quite frankly I have nothing to blog about, so here is a post about that then.  Oh the irony!

dpd-bookshelf

All my books are pretty much all packed away as I could only take so many boxes on the first couple of trips  and none of those books aroused my excitement.  Couple that with having been engaged in some extremely enjoyable birthday celebrations and then also being privileged to play hunt the tin opener.

For the completists among you, it was in the place where you would expect it to be, thus giving more weight to the theory that it’ll be in the last place you look, as I considered the whole tin opener location to be a double bluff, as would any right minded person, anyway that is all the amusement I can muster for you guys today so I shall get to writing something substantial and proper for next time, stay tuned.

 
39 Comments

Posted by on 19/12/2012 in Lists/Ephemera

 

Tags: , , ,

39 responses to “Blog Post in which I don’t mention meeting a cat, locking your housemate in the house by accident and drinking from a humourous mug

  1. Cory John Eadson

    19/12/2012 at 17:20

    You can even make blogging about nothing terribly entertaining. Although that picture of the empty bookcase is one of the saddest sights I have ever seen. Poor, lonely bookcase!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      19/12/2012 at 17:22

      It shall be filled sooner rather than later, as I shall be taking a few boxes back today, with more awesomeness in them. It’s almost like Christmas except I know what I have and have probably read them.

      Like

       
  2. boomiebol

    19/12/2012 at 17:29

    Smiles

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      19/12/2012 at 17:57

      Always lovely to have you and your smiles gracing my blog.

      Like

       
  3. Bumba

    19/12/2012 at 18:50

    I didn’t care about the cat, but you didn’t tell us what was in the tin.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      23/12/2012 at 10:45

      What was in the tin could have been a whole blog post in itself, although to cut a pointless post short it was Tuna fish. Just like The X-Files, the fun was in the mystery.

      Like

       
  4. RoSy

    20/12/2012 at 02:41

    Are you familiar with the old sitcom – Seinfeld?
    (The show about nothing)

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      23/12/2012 at 10:47

      I have never seen an episode of Seinfeld, Perhaps I shall investigate, I saw that show that Larry David did, if that’s the right name, the show that always put him in situations which he failed to easily avoid and made for cringeworthy viewing. I liked that.

      Like

       
  5. Christina ~

    20/12/2012 at 05:10

    I have to agree with Cory and Boomie….you do making blogging about nothing terribly entertaining and I am smiling! 😀

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      23/12/2012 at 10:49

      Thanks, I was under the insane misapprehension that I had to have a point to my posts, but even dull days can now become fodder for a post. Who knows what high octane entertainment you shall get from my post on ‘staring at the ceiling for hours’.

      Like

       
      • Christina ~

        26/12/2012 at 19:34

        LOL I will most definity be looking forward to what an insightful thought provoking and most likely very very funny post that would be! 😀

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          26/12/2012 at 19:38

          Challenge accepted, watch this space…..

          Like

           
          • Christina ~

            01/01/2013 at 01:19

            haha oh Yes! I’ll be watching anticipatiously 😀 I believe its already past for you….and I am woefully behind… wishing you a very very Happy New Year!! 🙂

            Like

             
            • StetotheJ

              02/01/2013 at 19:17

              Very good word anticipatously, I may have to steal that, sorry I mean reference that. If you were woefully behind it doesn’t help that I only read this today. A very merry un-new year to you (to you) as the mad Hatter may have said.

              Like

               
              • Christina ~

                04/01/2013 at 05:09

                LOL “Reference” away 😉 I often make up words when I can’t find one to truly express what I want to say 🙂 I feel much less behind…thank you 😀 And for what it’s worth…Hatter was my favorite character!

                Like

                 
  6. Asha Seth

    22/12/2012 at 09:20

    Hi SteJ,

    Been a while never seen you around. Hope all’s well.
    Just to let you know how much I adore your book-blog, I’d love to share this book award with you.
    Check it out here,
    http://amidstbooks.wordpress.com/2012/12/22/the-bookeraward/

    Keep reading! Keep reviewing! Enjoy! 🙂

    -Asha

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      23/12/2012 at 10:59

      Asha, my good friend, you never fail to put a smile on my face. I am still not connected to the ‘net but shall be soon, then I come on everyday and bounce around all of your blogs. I am proud to be at the top of your list.

      I shall definitely keep reading and reviewing…but only if you do too.

      Like

       
      • Asha Seth

        24/12/2012 at 05:47

        Its always a good feeling to have a few words from you. Top of my list, you’ll always be Ste J. And yes, with the onset of the new year, Im hoping to do a lot of reading and reviewing in the following year comparatively.

        Merry Christmas and New year to you and your loved ones.
        Enjoy!

        -Asha

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          26/12/2012 at 18:32

          The same to you and yours as well! It’s always good to know you shall have more treats instore for us, I shall come around knocking on your door (metaphorically) to see what you have in store. I feel inspired to start writing properly again now I have no interruptions.

          Like

           
          • Asha Seth

            28/12/2012 at 10:01

            Well, that’s good to know as now I can keep coming more often to quench my thirst for books while you keep reading and reviewing lots of them. 🙂

            Take care!

            -Asha

            Like

             
            • StetotheJ

              28/12/2012 at 14:47

              Every two or three days I shall keep updating. There is nothing like a promise to make you keep up with things. Or maybe it’s my new year’s resolution. Either way I will keep up the flow of random and/or interesting words.

              Like

               
  7. LuAnn

    22/12/2012 at 16:58

    No way that shelving unit is going to be strong enough to hold all your books! Happy holidays to you Ste J. 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      23/12/2012 at 10:52

      Luckily I have another seven and there is always space on the desk and failing that anywhere flat! A very happy and merry Christmas to your good self also. I hipe it involves lots of relaxing.

      Like

       
  8. letizia

    22/12/2012 at 17:20

    Oh, dear…. that bookcase looks sad indeed! I do hope that it has a few books in it by now as I know you’ll never feel at home until your books are happy 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      23/12/2012 at 10:54

      Many books, including one on the history of the ordnance Survey map which I haven’t got around to reading yet but promises to be fascinating. ‘I know you’ll never feel at home until your books are happy’, that is so true…

      Like

       
      • letizia

        23/12/2012 at 12:57

        the history of the ordinance survey map! that’s so specific! but, you’re right, in my experience, those books can prove oddly fascinating…. will probably end up being a great adventure book!

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          23/12/2012 at 13:15

          If its like the short history of the New York sewer system that I read through five or so months ago then I am in for a real treat. That was a sentence I could only ever have dreamed of saying until you commented, so thank you and merry Christmas.

          Like

           
  9. George Collingwood

    22/12/2012 at 23:04

    Books are hard to move, but they stay with you longer than most people.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      23/12/2012 at 10:55

      Spot on comment, I treat my books like I treat my women, I try not to break their spines…is a line that should not be used on people you don’t know. I found this out a few moths ago.

      Like

       
  10. pennycoho

    30/12/2012 at 02:44

    What an excellent post! I have never enjoyed nothing so much in my life SteJ. A work of art. A “something” to enjoy. Seriously I (as you know) love to see you writing … most anything. I agree about the bookcase, I’m sure it’s filled by now!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      31/12/2012 at 10:37

      It is getting there, so much great stuff to read and share with you. I shall be writing though this year too, I shall carry on from where I left off with the Fair prologue and hopefully fashion the plot for a magical realism story with lots of layers and subtleties. At least that is the plan.

      Like

       
      • pennycoho

        31/12/2012 at 23:43

        Sounds good to me. I do look forward to your creativity and excellent crafting of words! Sincerely said and meant btw.

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          02/01/2013 at 19:15

          I look forward to delighting you then.

          Like

           
          • pennycoho

            02/01/2013 at 19:22

            Being “delighted”! Such a great word with a wonderful connotation. Can’t wait!!!

            Like

             
            • StetotheJ

              02/01/2013 at 19:26

              Me neither, which makes me oddly positive, it’s like I may be getting into this blogging malarkey after all.

              Like

               
  11. anna amundsen

    02/11/2013 at 15:10

    I love chapter descriptions.. In Don Quixote, for example: Chapter XIV: In which is related the unfortunate adventure that Don Quixote fell in with when he fell out with certain heartless Yanguesans.
    And I LOVE your take on it in the post title. You didn’t even had to write the actual post. This title alone would suffice!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      05/11/2013 at 18:52

      I do like those old chapter headings that tell you what will happen and me being all playful and literary, I had to use that style of heading at some point. I haven’t read Don Quixote yet, although I do have a copy back in England. I am reading some Spanish literature at the moment though, which is ripe for a review in the coming weeks perhaps…

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
