RSS

Spatially Challenged

26 Oct

What have I learnt this evening?

  • I have no perception of quantity when it comes to choosing a pie.
  • I will go any distance because a free lift is offered.
  • Quality time can be spent in a car, even if it is going to Doncaster.

It is always nice to learn things and of course wander about life’s big questions whilst travelling in a car at night, whilst also pretending to be an ultra aware navigator.  The stars are always one thing to consider in their colossally far-off aloofness, the vast distances and amazing nebulae, the abstract concept of the infinite reaches of space and all of that cosmic stuff, but on a motorway all the light pollution unfortunately scuppers the idea of contemplating the wonderful night sky.

So, I was left to ruminate on more terrestrial matters. Namely that bit of a journey that everyone experiences, when you reach the crest of a hill and a whole patchwork quilt of lights comes into view like some sort of monstrously huge set of christmas lights but without all the fun colours.

All the possible arrangements of those small bright beacons, the stories that can be conjured up and the idea that in a way these lights are like a whole series of constellations themselves, mirroring the very space that they help to blot out.  I’m sure if someone was eccentric enough or just enjoyed living the life of an ancient Mesopotamian they could quite happily sit and make patterns of animals etc, like the astronomers of old.

Equally fascinating is the picking out of a single point of light from a house and imagining all the happenings and circumstances that are befalling the inhabitants bathed in the luminescence that shields the beautiful night sky from us.

The spark of electricity from a light switch is in itself is a small big bang, that brings into being a whole new world and a velvety impenetrable darkness outside.  So here we have the unfathomable and mysterious world right here on earth, I think it’s high time I went to aim my telescope at the next door neighbours window.

I can now use the excuse, as if it was needed to post a link for my favourite advert ever (which you can find here in case YouTube stops it showing below) and realise that Louis Armstrong was right all along. It’s relevant honest.

 
21 Comments

Posted by on 26/10/2012 in Melancholy

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

21 responses to “Spatially Challenged

  1. pennycoho

    26/10/2012 at 22:13

    Yes, SteJ, although lager (mug of ale – not sure of the vernacular to use) is what the commercial is about I find I must whole heartedly agree with your beautifully composed “muse” of things. This is a wonderful post my friend (full spectrum), absolutely wonderful from beginning to end, loved it!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      26/10/2012 at 22:19

      Guinness is Irish stout and can apparently be beneficial for the heart. Got to respect a drink that helps destroy one organ but helps another. I love the whole infinite, repetitive, imaginitive vibe. It’s one of the few adverts that have ever stayed with me. Glad you liked it, I came straihgt home and started writing and then more elements just added themselves. Not bad for a post written after 11 in the PM. I think your mood comment subconsciously helped me. Praise where it is due.

      Like

       
      • pennycoho

        26/10/2012 at 22:22

        (smiling with pleasure) refer to my picture on my post today for clearer reference point. Not bad…indeed, much talent cometh forth after 11 pm me thinks!

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          26/10/2012 at 22:33

          I doubt 11 shall remain the new post hour unless I can crank up the old inspiration-o-meter to maximum. I shall take more time to peruse your fine blog on the morrow, as I can’t give it the justice it deserves with these drooping eyes. I hate the end of a sugar rush. HAving said that your pics are always great, I love the cats. I wouldn’t go down a dark alley if they were there. Unless I had a torch, they go crazy for that magic spot of light.

          Like

           
  2. klumpigy

    27/10/2012 at 01:48

    I agree whole heatedly. Living in Australia (in particular Perth) long drives are something quite common, I would always entertain myself with thinking about the stories of the lights. Though I never thought of it like a constellation map – I think that’s a really beautiful image. I always enjoy reading your blog with your meaningful yet lighthearted insights

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      27/10/2012 at 08:35

      Your insights are no less meaningful and a lot more honest in yourself than anything I would ever attempt. That is why I like perusing your posts, you view life in a way that I couldn’t necessarily put into words as well as you. I think this calls for high fives all round! I’m also glad you post so prolifically these days. This makes me happy.

      Like

       
  3. Bumba

    27/10/2012 at 03:01

    Very enjoyable post. That is one of Armstrong’s worst songs ever, but it’s still good! And as for Guiness it can’t be beat. The stuff on the stars and the drive was the best part tho.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      27/10/2012 at 08:29

      I profess any lack of knowledge, except for two songs. I blame James Bond for getting me to hum We Have All the Time in the World. I shoved a bit of everything in last night to keep you guys interested.

      Like

       
  4. thethiessenreview

    27/10/2012 at 16:16

    “All the possible arrangements of those small bright beacons, the stories that can be conjured up and the idea that in a way these lights are like a whole series of constellations themselves, mirroring the very space that they help to blot out.”

    Epic description. It’s my favourite part of travelling by night. The sense of being completely alone and yet part of something much bigger. 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      28/10/2012 at 14:27

      It was exactly that feeling that made me start writing this, although it wasn’t until after I’d got home and reflected on it that I started to put fingers to keyboard. It was almost like the idea subconsciously commando rolled into my brain without me noticing. It’s very existential this travelling in the dark.

      Like

       
      • thethiessenreview

        28/10/2012 at 14:39

        Totally agreed, especially if you’re on a train or a coach for some reason.

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          28/10/2012 at 14:42

          Yeah that allows me time for thought as there is no directions to concentrate on or any other distractions just left to your own thoughts and however far they may take you. I may explore this further when I next take a nighttime jaunt, although maybe to somewhere slightly more exotic than Doncaster.

          Like

           
  5. Wes B.

    28/10/2012 at 01:56

    There’s something about travelling in a car at night that I’ve always loved and adored. I don’t know if it’s the beauty of the city lights, the cars driving by, or just the fact that I’m actually out at night. :p

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      28/10/2012 at 14:31

      Nighttime jaunts aren’t really my thing but they do seem to be filled with wonder, and possibly people who have been to the pub. It’s like another world and admittedly I sometimes pretend I’m Blade and look for where the vampires would attack me from and how I would dispatch them. But that is just me.

      Like

       
  6. 최다해 gongjumonica

    03/01/2013 at 08:57

    I like long drives. Aside from the fact that I still don’t know how to drive and thus enjoying being a passenger forever, it makes me calm my paranoid thoughts. I like staring at the night sky though I cannot see the constellations anymore. When I was younger I can point them using the naked eye. Now, with four eyes I still can’t see without the aid of telescope.

    When with friends, we usually stop somewhere grassy and chat while looking at the beauty of the sky. Then they’ll get drunk and start talking philosophically and turn the evening to political and social debate.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      04/01/2013 at 20:20

      Sounds like a perfect evening to me. we have a lot in common, this pleases me.

      Like

       
      • 최다해 gongjumonica

        11/01/2013 at 15:48

        Does it? 🙂 I missed doing that, actually. Since my friends and I finished university and ended up with our own job, we seldom meet and do these kind of things.

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          11/01/2013 at 17:36

          It’s tough when people start to drift away with other things they are busy with. I sense this is an excuse for you to get the old gang back together for another fantastic time, as if you needed the excuse!

          Like

           
  7. shiningstar85

    16/04/2013 at 06:32

    Like. very ponderous if that is a word.I hope u don’t spy on the neighbours too much! i know they do us in the past when me or mum has been able to sunbathe :s

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      16/04/2013 at 17:03

      Cheeky mares! Having a sneaky peek at you, I hope you gave them a subtle hand salute…I decided not to spy on the neighbours as I would have needed a ladder to see over the fence and I can’t explain that away very easily, still new house, new neighbours so you never know although…

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
