RSS

The Final Observations of Melancholy

03 Oct

So this wasn’t even meant to be a series of posts, it just popped into my head to try and awkwardly link up two posts that I already had in the pipeline with one that made sense in the pub after the odd pint or two.

It has taken me a long time to decide what accompanying visuals to put with this post, but I have finally decided to treat you to some Caspar David Friedrich paintings, he is one of my favourite artists, so any excuse to get him on the blog then. I particularly like the solitary person and bleak nature scenes, some which I am hopefully thrilling you with  here (and of a decent size to boot), if that is indeed the word.

I had no idea where these posts would go, other than to be a haphazard exploration of an emotion that has been behind so much creative work over the ages and defined whole movements which have changed the perspective of how we view ourselves and our surrounding universe.

Summing up then should be a fairly difficult task, and to be fair I thought it would be, however it turns out to be surprisingly easy.  Mainly because I realised that however mired in the dark depths of melancholy any one person chooses to be, there is always a certain amount of leeway for other sensations such as hope, positivity and indeed happiness.

So as nothing went as planned with these posts, aside from the actual writing, they have still ended up morphing into something more interesting than i imagined, namely a reversal of the original idea if you will. Still it is enough to say that I have actually learnt something, which I wasn’t really expecting to do, although unusual insights are usually nice things.

To end then this grand tour of the three areas that have a passing idea of melancholy in them, I would normally harp on about how it should be indulged in from time to time but I’m sure you guys already knew that. Exploration over, I shall return to the book reviews for a while now.

 
19 Comments

Posted by on 03/10/2012 in Melancholy

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

19 responses to “The Final Observations of Melancholy

  1. boomiebol

    03/10/2012 at 18:52

    Fine exploration all in all 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      06/10/2012 at 14:30

      The ones that start with a pint usually are hehe.

      Like

       
  2. LuAnn

    03/10/2012 at 20:48

    Your photos fit perfectly with your writing. And your writing, what can I say, is exquisite! 🙂

    Like

     
  3. letizia

    04/10/2012 at 13:36

    I love these paintings, so haunting and beautiful at the same time. Thanks for introducing me to him!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      06/10/2012 at 14:33

      They do have a gothic, back to nature, solitude vibe. I like stuff like that could spend all day just looking. Always happy to share the art love around.

      Like

       
  4. pennycoho

    06/10/2012 at 15:40

    Me again. A very nice ending especially with the pint or two thrown in. The paintings are beautiful and your writing creatively rich! But I won’t go on about it. You already know how I feel about what you are capable of in that area. One final thought then I’ll let it go (for the now) You have a very distinctive and unique style of writing, it makes it fun and interesting to read at the same time. (okay all done).
    The author I spoke of before (which I now realize came back to England when he became successful so you probably have read him is Fergus Hume, myfavorite by him is “The Mystery of a Hansom Cab”) I’ve ready many of his books, he has a wonderful style that draws the reader in.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      07/10/2012 at 12:33

      That title rings a bell. I may have seen a copy in a shop last week. I shall go and investigate tomorrow. I do love a good mystery though. I’d hate to be seen as discriminating against any genre. I hope I shall be able to find his work. It is now tempting to start all my posts with two pints down the pub, but I shall refrain. Sometimes I think I write in to staccato a fashion. Having said that sometimes I should relax into it, I suppose all us bloggers feel this pressure at some point.

      Like

       
  5. pennycoho

    07/10/2012 at 15:37

    When I read the writings written in another era I try to imagine myself in that time period to better emmerse myself (sounds like I’m going to take a bath lol, hey,,,I like it “bathing in books”) not only into that particular genre but also to “feel” better how a reader of the “then” would have reacted to the authors words. Just a thing a do, sounds silly now that I’ve said it though!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      08/10/2012 at 15:14

      No it makes so much sense, it’s like the equivalent of surround sound for readers, I doubt any other media can have the effect that a book has for losing yourself within the books own context and content. At least if you bathe in books you won’t get wet. And that’s always a plus point.

      Like

       
      • pennycoho

        08/10/2012 at 15:30

        Too true Ste J, Too true, And I think if I had to pick one thing out of all the things there are to love about reading books, I’d probably pick – Everything! Have a great week, I hope it started off well for you today! Penny 🙂

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          08/10/2012 at 15:37

          It has started alright, and I hope your starts even better. It’s hard to articulate to people why reading is so great. You have the knack for it though.

          Like

           
  6. Jyo Aadarsh

    08/10/2012 at 12:23

    Thanks for sharing! fine art works, beautiful read!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      08/10/2012 at 15:10

      Why thankyou very much and thanks for stopping by. Always a pleasure to welcome visitors, apologies for not offering you a cuppa.

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
