RSS

Chasing The Ace, The Ace For The Purposes Of This Post Being The Number One Hundred

21 Sep

What do a good guitar solo, a pint in the local, a photo of a grinning dog, a bit of satire and a tortoise named Alan all have in common? They all amuse me, that’s right amuse me,  right now that’s been cleared up……..

I’ve been putting a lot of effort into my posts recently, which I’m sure you’ll agree is nice. Not that I was exactly showboating before, but the all consuming life a blogger is a serious business these days for me.  So much in fact that it is interfering with my reading, I have yet to complete my 72nd book of the year despite having started it ages ago (Frankenstein if you are wondering).

Now with an imminent week off and a distinct lack of any sort of plans to go with it, this will be the ideal time to continue in my quest to read 100 books this year.  It’s a bit of an arbitrary number you may think, and you would be right to do so. But it does have a ring to it. There are no hidden symbols in it, I could make some up but that would be like The da Vinci Code and no one needs to hear me rant on about that again (although continuous digs at it, it seems are fine).

So rather than bore you with updates on how much I am reading and how I’m getting on, blah, blah and thrice blah, feel free to check back to my Books read in 2012 page which is a lot less wordy than me. I have been wondering if I should count graphic novels/comic books as there are some pretty decent literary stuff I wouldn’t mind reading and sharing with you all, but I don’t want to break any unwritten rules. Anyways your thoughts welcome as always, and may I say you look lovely today.

 
18 Comments

Posted by on 21/09/2012 in Lists/Ephemera

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

18 responses to “Chasing The Ace, The Ace For The Purposes Of This Post Being The Number One Hundred

  1. boomiebol

    21/09/2012 at 17:14

    :). This post made me smile and why thank you, you look lovely as well lol. You can share some comic books if they are the super cool ones. I used to be addicted to tintin…I still collect them. Have a great and peace filled weekend Steve.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      21/09/2012 at 17:22

      And the same to your fine self. I hope it is good weather, and you achieve nothing productive, but do the fun stuff, I exclude your blog from that as that is both of the aforementioned. I shall go through my not so vast collection of comic books, and get something read. i have had my eye on a few for a while which may interest you.

      Like

       
  2. RoSy

    21/09/2012 at 20:57

    I would count comics & such. Heck – I’d count the books that I’ve read to my kids too…
    It’s up to you though. And – there is no such thing as breaking your rules – it’s called modification – LOL

    Oh & Thanks for the compliment 🙂

    Happy Friday & Happy Weekend!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      22/09/2012 at 12:29

      The comic books have it! This pleases me very much. I like the use of modification, I shall make sure I ‘move the goalposts’ fairly regularly in that case. If it helps to achieve a goal by making it come to me, then that suits me fine. Working smart I call it.

      Like

       
  3. letizia

    21/09/2012 at 21:50

    What a fun photo, had me laughing so hard 🙂

    Would love to hear about a good graphic novel or comic book.

    have a wonderful and relaxing week off!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      22/09/2012 at 12:27

      Then I shall get something read fairly soon, I have been neglecting the old art/word combo so I really need to do something in that area, and happily i can also use it as an excuse to head to a comic shop and splurge. When you make your blog into an excuse for buying stuff on the pretense that you will definitely review it, you know your doing something right.

      Like

       
  4. Claire 'Word by Word'

    22/09/2012 at 18:59

    Well done on 100 posts! And good luck with the 100 books, I went for 52 and have got to 50 already so may to adjust it up, but its a bit slow going at the moment. Off to check out your list now.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      24/09/2012 at 15:05

      Fifty is very impressive, anyone averaging over one a week needs a high five. Go for 75, it’s a nice number. I hear you with the slow going, it took me nine days to read Frankenstein.

      Like

       
  5. LuAnn

    23/09/2012 at 17:03

    Love your photo of the smiling dog. As age begins to set in on me and gravity starts to have an impact, perhaps I will need someone to assist me as well (lol)! I will definitely be checking out your 2012 book list. Have a great day. 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      24/09/2012 at 15:15

      Lol, that would be a sight for people walking down the street, I do hope you would provide photos for all of us unlucky to see you in real life. Just added a couple to the list as I am back on the mission with a vengeance. Have a fantastic day (and night) yourself.

      Like

       
  6. pennycoho

    23/09/2012 at 20:50

    Generically speaking thank you! Nice list! 🙂 Have you ever read anything by George Effinger, Sci.Fi.! He started cyber punk before it was, and he had a gift for weaving dark humor into an excellent read (in my opinion). He won the Nebula Prize and the Hugo Award for “Schrodinger’s Kitten” in 1989. My favorite is “When Gravity Falls”. Penny

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      24/09/2012 at 15:17

      I just checked out that book, it sounds really fascinating, and is another one of the hundreds of books I shall look out for. I really venture into sci fi books much these days so I’m happy that you have given me an excuse to get back into the genre. You have a talent for directing me back to old literary haunts.

      Like

       
      • pennycoho

        24/09/2012 at 20:33

        I think you’ll enjoy the read. He was a Bohemian after the bohemians and a cyber punk before there were any (I know I mentioned that already). Everything an off the wall intelligent and talented writer needs to be! Hey that resembles someone I know! Penny 🙂

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          25/09/2012 at 07:44

          Coincidentally it also reminds me of someone I know too! I shall be scouting for his work this week, such is my enthusiasm, he sounds like someone I could get into ridiculously easily.

          Like

           
  7. 최다해 gongjumonica

    20/01/2013 at 23:25

    I checked this post because of the featured photo in your Top Posts page. Reading this and seeing that cute and funny face of a dog makes me laugh. It’s 7:17 AM here and I just woke up. Thank you for making my day with that picture of a dog. Now, I’ll be going to work smiling with that dog in mind. 🙂

    By the way, you know how to play guitar? I didn’t know this. I have been “practicing” for years now, but as I’ve told you I am so uncoordinated that most songs I played are off-tune. They say I shift chords too fast or too slow and my strumming pattern is weird. Haha

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      23/01/2013 at 14:57

      I thin k you must have a new unique way of playing guitar and should pioneer a new sound. I shall be your agent too. Books and music much better than politics and horse radish, FACT!

      This is my top post, it seems people search for smiling dogs quite a lot, which is worrying lol.

      Like

       
  8. Paul

    17/07/2014 at 20:20

    Stumbled on this PIC and didn’t stop smiling, really amused me and my co workers, thanks for bringing a little humour into our day

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      19/07/2014 at 19:12

      There is something about it that just demands laughter, thanks for the visit!

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
