RSS

New Additions

01 Sep

It’s always a decent idea to have a good excuse ready for when you go a bit mad and buy a load of books, yesterday it was needing bus fare for Saturday and that merited a trip to The Works, to see if they actually had anything in that might appeal.  It doesn’t happen often but yesterday I hit upon three intriguing books, Camp Z, Eleven Minutes Late and The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz.

For the rest of the books, they were purchased from Geoff Blore’s, the mighty fine second hand book shop, and all round nice guy who always does me a deal on books.  Quite where I’m going to shoehorn these books is anyones guess but that’s part of the fun.

So did I have a good book day or what? Feel free to praise or mock my efforts of choice as I have heard good things about them but have no idea if the hype is in fact just that. Although the Choose Your Own Adventure is great, a dolphin helped me do stuff!

 
15 Comments

Posted by on 01/09/2012 in Lists/Ephemera

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “New Additions

  1. Boomie Bol

    01/09/2012 at 17:19

    Looks like a fine collection to me.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      01/09/2012 at 17:39

      I hope to get reviewing them soon, I’m glad my choices meet with your approval.

      Like

       
  2. letizia

    01/09/2012 at 20:43

    My big brother had so many Choose your own Adventure books when we were growing up. I have such fond memories of sitting next to him and each of us reading one and then exchanging the books and reading the other’s. Then we would compare our adventures. Great books! How wonderful that a dolphin helped you along your journey….how often has that happened in your life? If you say more than once, I will be very impressed….. 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      03/09/2012 at 12:58

      I was tempted to say yes then give you a story so implausible that it just might be true, however my imagination failed me and so you have this long sentence that only works due to the fortuitous power of commas. I am glad that I made you feel all nostalgic, I seem to be inadvertently collecting them again, I now have a grand total of four.

      Like

       
  3. Claire 'Word by Word'

    02/09/2012 at 07:24

    Lots of unknowns there, look forward to reading about the gems!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      03/09/2012 at 13:00

      The difficult part of it is to choose which to read first, I think there will be a good few there that may interest you.

      Like

       
  4. LuAnn

    03/09/2012 at 13:34

    What a great assortment of books. My husband and I are voracious readers and love to visit bookstores in interesting little towns. I look forward to following a book reviewer. 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      03/09/2012 at 13:59

      You are right there, bookshops are great, all with their unique quirks and many hidden gems, I hope I shall review something that takes your fancy!

      Like

       
  5. pennycoho

    06/09/2012 at 01:14

    One of my all time favorite places on the planet, a used book store. Get lost in them. Interesting selection I’m familiar with a few. Good reads some. I know you’re sleeping now, but I dropped by even though. (early evening here) 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      06/09/2012 at 16:16

      I always welcome a drop by anytime, I was dreaming about work which was depressing, especially having to go there in the morning, it felt like I hadn’t been away. Still coming home to nice comments always cheers me up. I am getting obsessed with this certain bookstore, I may make a fortnightly pilgrimage to it, if my bank balance holds up to it. You’re right though best places on the planet. It even beats the beach but I shy away from the sun.

      Like

       
      • pennycoho

        06/09/2012 at 16:30

        Honestly, I like both, but I was lucky to have some quality ‘alone’ time on a few beaches, so I think that had a lot to do with my pleasure there, (as long as I have a book to fall into – I’m good). But used bookstores, hmmm, talk about sensuality (well for book lovers!). lol

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          06/09/2012 at 16:35

          Everyone should be book lover in a perfect world. I love the feeling of picking up an old book and knowing many people have travelled the same route I will travel but will see, learn and experience totally different things to me. That always sends a shiver down my spine.

          Like

           
          • pennycoho

            06/09/2012 at 16:51

            There with you. There’s so much more than picking up bound paper with a cover on it (And yes there are some awesomely bound books so I am not belittling that aspect either), and then opening and reading the words – just so much more to the “reading” experience! Yes I agree!

            Like

             
            • StetotheJ

              07/09/2012 at 05:16

              We seem to agree on everything, I think this may make us the the most correctly informed, brilliant and dare i say it good looking people on the planet, hehe.

              Like

               
              • pennycoho

                07/09/2012 at 05:31

                he he! Well when your right, your right!

                Like

                 

Tell me stuff...

 
