RSS

The Very Inspiring Blogger Award

31 Jul

So there I was yesterday, plugging away at a few draft posts when up pops a comment from the inimitable Letizia and her great blog which you shall all be checking out http://readinginterrupted.com/ , telling me that I would got a nomination for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. Now I’m the least egocentric person I know, in my humble opinion and not wanting to big myself up to much, here is the great write up I was given:

‘I recently discovered his blog but am enchanted with his writing style. His book reviews and musings on all things literary are wonderfully witty. I even ordered a book he reviewed just to see if I hated the characters as much as he did!’

Now my ego trip is subsiding, I should say another big thankyou to Letizia and I hope I can keep amusing, informing and entertaining you with my sometimes wayward and haphazard meanderings.  I’d tell you some future possible highlights but I haven’t written any yet so I best get to it, post haste.

Okay so without any further ado and asides I shall nominate some lucky bloggers for this award, bloggers who are inspiring, talented and probably have a very good dress sense to boot. In no particular order:

  1. Word by Word – A wander around all things good
  2. Delicately Clumsy –  A whimsical take on life.
  3. Boomie Bol –  A poetic turn of events
  4. nofriendasloyalasabook – An eclectic and darn good look through books
  5. A Rat in the Book Pile – A literary feast
  6. Discoveranddevour – A heartwarming jaunt through life
  7. TheWhyAboutThis – A mix of awesomeness

I could have written a lot more about each blogger (and blogette) but that’d spoil the experience and discovery, like knowing that Kevin Spacey is Keyser Soze before you watch The Usual Suspects.

I now also have to say seven things about me, because that’s the law of the award. I just did a post on this today so now I shall have to trawl the darkest regions for amusing things….

  1. I am rubbish at buying shoes, whatever I buy falls apart after 2-3 months. Cheap stuff, well made stuff, trainers, shoes, clogs, everything just hates my feet, and I wash them regular so it’s not that!
  2. I always try to turn up early when meeting friends (anything upto 5 hours has been known) so I can read.
  3. I enjoy watching, and then quoting obscure films endlessly and listening to 80’s film soundtracks, that was the best film decade ever.
  4. I have a bit of an obsession with maps and statistics, I’m not particularly good at maths but love the way numbers fit together.
  5. I was once on a roundabout in the snow and was being pushed off by a friend (Tanya Noble), fell off, rolled over in the snow and lost my glasses for a bit much to everyone’s amusement.
  6. Although I’ve been to Manchester Piccadilly station whilst waiting for a connecting train, I have never gone out of the doors and into Manchester proper. Just waited for a train to take me away again, and hope it doesn’t terminate at Bolton, which is probably the worst station I have ever stood in.
  7. I am one of those people who likes to travel….from an armchair. I like books and sitting down and not being hassled, so it’s the perfect way to explore the world.

Below are the rules for the Very Inspiring Blog Award so you can see I adhered to them and I have a liking for small print too, (honest).

1.  Display the award logo on your blog.
2.  Link back to the person who nominated you.
3.  State 7 things about yourself.
4.  Nominate 7 other bloggers for this award and link to them.
5.  Notify those bloggers of the nomination and the award’s requirements.

 
36 Comments

Posted by on 31/07/2012 in Blogging

 

Tags: , , , , ,

36 responses to “The Very Inspiring Blogger Award

  1. pennycoho

    31/07/2012 at 16:27

    Hi, thanks for the nomination. I really liked the answers to your questions – I totally agree with your way of travelling the world! 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      31/07/2012 at 16:48

      Laziness is the way forward, especially if the way forward is downhill! I could be a fortune cookie writer.

      Like

       
  2. letizia

    31/07/2012 at 16:40

    I can’t wait to check out the blogs you nominated! (and love that you show up early when meeting friends to read…. I do that as well although not intentionally, but am often happily reading when they do arrive) 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      31/07/2012 at 16:50

      It’s the best way, there’s nothing worse than seeing someone from a distance and having to do that far away arm communicating and exaggerated facial expressions until they get close. Also it makes us look very intelligent, unless you have a Where’s Wally? with you.

      Like

       
  3. boomiebol

    31/07/2012 at 17:30

    Oh well deserved Steve. Have family and friends in Manchester and have never been either. Congratulations on this deserving award and thanks for the nomination

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      31/07/2012 at 17:39

      Always happy to oblige! Shame I couldn’t nominate everyone, it was a tough choice. If you’re ever in Manchester let me know and I will head up and buy you a fruit based drink!

      Like

       
  4. hannahsteveeee

    31/07/2012 at 19:17

    Thank you so much for this! I really am honoured! It means a lot, and I’ll post about it as soon as WordPress cleans up its act. Thank you again!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      31/07/2012 at 19:21

      It’s a pleasure to send people your way. I know how you feel, I was a ecstatic yesterday when i was nominated, there were many high fives and acceptance speeches being written.

      Like

       
  5. Sarah

    31/07/2012 at 20:00

    And thank you from me too! Very honoured, and so on and so forth 🙂

    Rather bizarrely my last pair of shoes lasted less than a fortnight. It must be due to that eccentric walking thing I like to do… Anyway, am delighted to meet a fellow sufferer, and now feel vindicated in my pursuit of ever cheaper shoes!

    I too do the turning up slightly early with a book thing, but five hours? Now that is impressive.

    But on the whole I’m not sure about sharing seven things, although it seems as if I would find myself in good company. (Glasses lost in snow? Check!)

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      01/08/2012 at 18:05

      We have many odd and obscure things in common, this pleases me. I could have put the usual stuff down but thought better of it, as I can’t be the only person these things happen too. Now i am vindicated and shall join your quest for the cheapest shoes, this side of stealing them off people.

      I think the five hours is just my excuse to get some quality alone time in a public place.

      Like

       
  6. Claire 'Word by Word'

    01/08/2012 at 18:47

    Congratulations, what a great quote from the person who nominated you, that IS inspiring indeed for someone to buy a book based on how much you detested the characters, you definitely deserve an award for that, I consider that a sign of success when a review of a book you didn’t much like (though not sure if this was the case) still inspired someone to want to read it. Well done and thanks for the nod 🙂

    And I am amused by you’re turning up early to rdv’s, I have a mature French student who does that all the time, once I arrived an hour early and surprised him, he was coming to the office, enjoying the couch (even bought his own tea), became friendly with the reception staff and got to finish his book! Our lessons were a breeze once I discovered he loved books. 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      02/08/2012 at 14:23

      I feel inspired to finish my angry Da Vinci Code review now, in fact any negative book review. I do love a good rant. I’m about to do the same thing today, going to a gig at 8 and am setting off shortly to get some reading done. Books bring the best people together. FACT!

      Like

       
  7. bareyournaketruth

    05/08/2012 at 17:25

    Hi Steve,

    Congratulations on your award! 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      06/08/2012 at 05:14

      Thankyou, it was most unexpected and humbling, but you guys are great to me.

      Like

       
      • bareyournaketruth

        06/08/2012 at 15:14

        The WordPress community of bloggers is so supportive…love it! 🙂

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          06/08/2012 at 15:41

          They are that. If i had the money, I’d shout you all a mineral water. The sparkling kind because I’m not cheap.

          Like

           
  8. geekybooksnob

    07/08/2012 at 15:39

    “2.I always try to turn up early when meeting friends (anything upto 5 hours has been known) so I can read.” Yup, I do that as well, though the earliest I’ve shown up is just an hour. But reading helps my introverted brain get ready for the energy about to come my way when I meet up with friends. Great blog!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      08/08/2012 at 15:10

      Thankyou very much. I always like to appear intelligent, when i’m in the pub reading a Famous Five books, people don’t seem that moved. For me it’s any excuse to sit and read. It’s nice to know i’m not alone in my idiosyncracies.

      Like

       
  9. 최다해 gongjumonica

    21/01/2013 at 07:42

    Congratulations on this award. I smiled at number 1. I also had the same experience when I was younger. My parents complained about my shoes. They always buy branded pairs for me, but their life span is no longer than six months for me. Mom said it has to do with the way I walk.

    Thankfully I am no longer like that or I’ll cry over my lovely shoes. I also wash my feet, but hey, did you consider trimming your toenails? Those could be razor sharp, you know 🙂

    I love Math and I always associate things with numbers. My colleagues hate it when they reminisce about something and my calculator brain will say, “Ah, I was in 5th grade that time.” They hate to know that I am the youngest in the department LOL

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      24/01/2013 at 20:18

      You young ‘uns always like to rub it in and make us feel old lol. I’m starting to feel my age now.

      Ah toes nail clippers, for years I have been shredding shoes for no reason, how foolish I now feel. I never grew out of the trashing shoes faze but as a member of the opposite sex I can well understand your love of shoes.

      Like

       
      • 최다해 gongjumonica

        27/01/2013 at 10:23

        Sorry, but I was unconscious about it most of the time. When someone says about this particular time, it is almost always automatic for me to count the years. I don’t why I like doing that.

        Hehe. Now, I know what to get you for your birthday or next Christmas. A friend once gifted me with a Hello Kitty designed clipper and it is unused so please feel free to email me if you want it lol.

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          27/01/2013 at 16:18

          Can you imagine me with anything Hello kitty? Lol, I think I would look a bit of a sight, or it could be my first video blog, dedicated to you.

          Like

           
          • 최다해 gongjumonica

            30/01/2013 at 08:41

            As much as it pleases me to see your first ever video blog dedicated to me, I do not want your followers to be surprised about your er, collection.

            For the record, I don’t like that pink cat either.

            Like

             
            • StetotheJ

              01/02/2013 at 14:29

              Perhaps I should disguise myself for the video blog. It may become something quite epic, there could be a team of three of us working on it.

              Like

               
              • 최다해 gongjumonica

                04/02/2013 at 04:41

                Disguise as what? Not the cat itself, right? My friend once tried to be a mascot of our school and he nearly collapsed from a. lack of air inside the costume, or b. humiliation.

                Like

                 
                • StetotheJ

                  05/02/2013 at 16:17

                  Haha, my money is on the humiliation, maybe I shall disguise myself as a tree, it would start in a park, I’d do a whole book review before revealing I was actually the tree. Imagine that!

                  Like

                   
                  • 최다해 gongjumonica

                    08/02/2013 at 06:58

                    Oho! Then a dog will be in the scene and feel the need to relieve itself. You’ll find yourself in a very interesting position then. Haha!

                    Apologies. My imagination is so active these days.

                    Like

                     
                    • StetotheJ

                      09/02/2013 at 12:31

                      I hadn’t thought of that…I need to rethink this, maybe something less appealing to a dog. Maybe I should just claim i was the tree whilst doing a voice over from behind the camera. Which would have made sense in the first place.

                      Like

                       
                    • 최다해 gongjumonica

                      14/02/2013 at 06:58

                      Now that’s a better idea. I would love to hear that voice over. As I told you, I like hearing people speaking in their English accent or whatever you call it.

                      Like

                       
                    • StetotheJ

                      17/02/2013 at 19:36

                      I will do something soon, I want something short so people don’t get to bored for my first time out. I feel a tad self conscious about my voice now.

                      Like

                       
                    • 최다해 gongjumonica

                      19/02/2013 at 04:02

                      Yes, I think that’s a good idea for your first video. Oho. Be sure to drink ginger tea or something. I don’t want you to sound like a flat tire (does it even have a sound?) when you are doing your video.

                      Like

                       
                    • StetotheJ

                      19/02/2013 at 17:16

                      Maybe if I hiss as I speak you will think I am a flat tyre. I will make sure I have a well lubricated throat and I enunciate well for you.

                      Like

                       
                    • 최다해 gongjumonica

                      20/02/2013 at 03:54

                      Now that’s funny. You made me curious again. Come on, hiss! Are you a parselmouth? I imagine you speaking in parseltongue.

                      Like

                       
                    • StetotheJ

                      22/02/2013 at 17:30

                      It’s the glasses isn’t it, makes you think of Harry potter, lol. I am in the process of choosing a book I can review for you and also thinking my beard needs a trim.

                      Like

                       

Tell me stuff...

 
