RSS

My top 20 Favourite Books

03 May

Since at least the 4th of September last year, these have been my favourite books. On any given day though the top five could all change places due to my whimsical nature. So here are my top 20 fave books, discuss:

1 Catch 22 – Joseph Heller

2 Voss  – Patrick White

3 One Hundred Years of Solitude  – Gabriel Garcia Marquez

4  Crime and Punishment – Fyodor dostoyevsky

5  Homicide, Life on the Killing Streets – David Simon

War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy

7 Three Men in a Boat  – Jerome K Jerome

8 1984 – George Orwell

9  A Pound of Paper – John Baxter

10  Love in the Time of Cholera – Gabriel Garcia Marquez

11  In Cold Blood – Truman Capote                                                     

12  Baudolino – Umberto Eco

13 All Quiet on the Western Front – Erich Maria Remarque

14 Fire in the Blood – Irene nemirovsky

15 The Woman in Black – Susan hill

16 The Remains of the Day – Kazuo Ishiguro

17 The Life of Pi – Yann Martel

18 Batavia’s Graveyard – Mike Dash

19 Lanark – Alisdair Gray

20 Sea Room – Adam Nicolson

 
20 Comments

Posted by on 03/05/2012 in Fiction, Lists/Ephemera

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

20 responses to “My top 20 Favourite Books

  1. Emily

    03/05/2012 at 16:58

    Love in the Time of Cholera is one of my all-time favorite books! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      03/05/2012 at 17:17

      It’s always nice to chat with people who read the good quality books, I always badger people to read these books because it pains me that people don’t always read the quality stuff.

      Like

       
  2. iamatticusfinch

    03/05/2012 at 17:03

    good choice! the dostoevsky and tolstoy are wise choices!

    I am new to blogging. And I decided on having a poetry publication here. I ain’t a great poet, but can you help make my poems better? Here is my blog: http://tourshereandthere.wordpress.com/

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      03/05/2012 at 17:20

      Always happy to be constructive with my feedback! The Russian novels are just so ridiculously epic, I have Doctor Zhivago, Dead Souls and Life and Fate that I must get around to reading at some point…

      Like

       
      • iamatticusfinch

        03/05/2012 at 17:24

        now i am reading atonement,. 🙂

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          03/05/2012 at 17:29

          I haven’t read any Ian Mcewan although i do own Saturday. Yet another book on the list I need to read. There just isn’t the time, it’s a travesty.

          Like

           
        • Emily

          04/05/2012 at 22:05

          Atonement was an excellent book! One of my favorites from the year I read it. Also like the movie version, and it’s not too often I think a movie based on a book is that good!

          Like

           
          • StetotheJ

            06/05/2012 at 19:39

            I shall check ot the movie sometimes then, after i’ve read the book naturally. I always love recommendations, although my overburdened bookshelves do not.

            Like

             
  3. boomiebol

    03/05/2012 at 17:45

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, liking one of the posts, and for the follow.

    Like

     
    • boomiebol

      03/05/2012 at 17:46

      I haven’t read George Orwell’s 1984…need to check that out :). Thanks for sharing

      Like

       
      • StetotheJ

        03/05/2012 at 19:55

        It is a fine book, but then again the quality of Orwell means that whichever of his books you pick up you will find it well written with plenty of things to muse upon in the text.

        Like

         
  4. crashing waves

    11/05/2012 at 08:44

    Catch 22 and One Hundred Years of Solitude are just two of the many books I have yet to read! Thanks for sharing your list. 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      11/05/2012 at 17:17

      You are in for an immense treat, I assure you.

      Like

       
  5. anna amundsen

    06/08/2013 at 17:34

    Not many people have ‘Lanark’ among their favorites. Nice to see it here. Just yesterday I bought ‘All Quiet on the Western Front’. I will hopefully pick it up some time soon.. There are number of authors I’m not familiar with – Simon, Jerome, Heller, Baxter, Hill, Nicholson. Never even heard of them. I’ve checked them on my to-explore list.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      07/08/2013 at 18:23

      You have some treats to get your eyes around then! I am excited for you reading them. My friend introduced me to Lanark and it was just so cross genre that I read it really quickly. Your to-explore list intrigues me….tell me more.

      Like

       
      • anna amundsen

        09/08/2013 at 21:57

        Well, basically, it’s a list of names I find in literary magazines or, as in this case, on lists of people whose taste in literature I trust. I note them and when I’m in the mood for exploring I read something about them and their work to decide if I’m going to read them and how soon..

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          11/08/2013 at 08:34

          I like your analytical approach to reading, it probably saves you wasting on money on books you buy but then give away without reading…

          Like

           
          • anna amundsen

            12/08/2013 at 06:21

            That never happens to me.. However, buying a book, reading it and then having no objection giving it away did. I remember, long time ago, I bought Ellis’s ‘American Psycho’ (don’t know why :S). I read it and wished it out of my house as soon as possible. There was a bookshop ten minutes away so I went and exchanged it for Oscar Wilde. With small surcharge, of course.

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              12/08/2013 at 17:41

              Nice change! I have American Psycho somewhere…I am wondering if the hype is worth it, I saw a bit of the film and that looked a bit mental…Perhaps I will have a go at it sometime but it is not high up on the list.

              Like

               
              • anna amundsen

                13/08/2013 at 17:24

                I laughed out loud to ‘a bit mental’ – the word, used in this context always contained some kind of strange humor which I’m unable to describe.. You are right; still, I would say a little bit more than a bit.

                Like

                 

Tell me stuff...

 
