RSS

World book Night 2012

18 Apr

 Having been engrossed in a good book as usual, I have only just clicked onto the upcoming World Book Night 2012 which shall be occupying me next Monday (23rd April), when I shall be possibly making excited, strangulated happy gurgling noises. Sadly I don’t think the BBC will be screening any  programmes on what is Shakespeare’s birthday (and the date that Shakespeare and Cervantes died as well),  but more of that tomorrow when I have digested the chosen 25 books and formulated a little rant that has been niggling in my mind since last years event.

Purely out of interest, how many have you guys read?  I have only read five and own four more, which isn’t particularly arresting numberswise but then again that is part of the rant. I’m getting ahead of myself anyway until tomorrow, enjoy the list:

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (Vintage)

The Player of Games by Iain M Banks (Little, Brown)

Sleepyhead by Mark Billingham (Little, Brown)


Notes from a Small Island by Bill Bryson (Transworld)


The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho (HarperCollins)


The Take by Martina Cole (Headline)


Harlequin by Bernard Cornwell (HarperCollins)

Someone Like You by Roald Dahl (Penguin)


A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens (Penguin)

Room by Emma Donoghue (Pan Macmillan)

Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier (Little, Brown)

The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro (Faber)

Misery by Stephen King (Hodder)

The Secret Dreamworld of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella (Transworld)


Small Island by Andrea Levy (Headline)

Let the Right One In by John Ajvde Lindqvist (Quercus)

The Road by Cormac McCarthy (Pan Macmillan)

The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger (Vintage)

The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox by Maggie O’Farrell (Headline)


The Damned Utd by David Peace (Faber)

Good Omens by Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman (Transworld)


How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff (Penguin)


Touching the Void by Joe Simpson (Vintage)


I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith (Vintage)

The Book Thief by Markus Zuzak (Transworld)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 18/04/2012 in Lists/Ephemera

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “World book Night 2012

  1. Cory

    18/04/2012 at 16:30

    Well, sorry to say I have read 2 off of this list, and own 3 others. However, there are several on that list I don’t own which I ought to and will, Good Omens & Let the Right One In namely two of them. Ashamed at the lack of Douglas Adams on the list, but then again I would say that.

    Like

     
  2. StetotheJ

    19/04/2012 at 05:25

    Ha! I expected you to say something along those lines, I got Let the Right One In a few christmases back and should get around to reading/reviewing it, but such is ‘the’ book pile who knows when that will be. I’d try a chick lit one for a laugh but that Mills and Boon book was enough.

    Like

     
  3. Claire 'Word by Word'

    22/04/2012 at 14:13

    I have read 5 and no others on the shelf.

    Like

     

Tell me stuff...

 
