RSS

Amazon – Bruce Parry

05 Jun

Explorer Bruce Parry heads on an epic 6000km journey down the great River Amazon, giving an insight into the lives of people who live and work along its banks. With lots of photos and written in a diary entry format.

This is a good light read but is sadly nothing spectacular.  There is a lot of scope for depth and discussion of the plight of all the peoples living around the Amazon, from tribes who have their homes and livelihood affected by new hydro-electric dams to the farmers caught between law enforcement and drug barons.  These issues and others are glossed over to the point where one begins to wonder: exactly why write a book about these topics if they aren’t going to get much of a mention?

The main problem being the format for the book. Whereas Michael Palin(for example) excels in the diary format because he tends to have a short muse on the topical issues, Parry is aiming for so much more but fails due to the very nature of the book structure. What he attempts to cover in a short space is to the detriment of the warmth and humour of the aforementioned Mr Palin.

With Television being dumbed down the way has been in recent years, presumably the attitude has been adopted that the public wouldn’t get anything that is to insightful and complex, so what we get in reality are Bruce’s (very) short views on big and  important topics, that have ramifications not just for the people of the Amazon but also world-wide.

Still it is a good primer for people who want a fair view of what is going on along the Amazon (although it could do with a decent map), definitely a springboard for those wanting to go on to a more substantial book about the same subjects.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 05/06/2011 in Travel

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Amazon – Bruce Parry

  1. 최다해 gongjumonica

    03/01/2013 at 08:46

    When I was younger, I fancied living in the Amazon. When I travelled more places in my country, I realized that I have to know my country, which has 7100+ islands first.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      04/01/2013 at 20:16

      That is a whole lot of research, any good books you read though, feel free to mention them to me as i am interested in where you live too.

      Like

       
      • 최다해 gongjumonica

        11/01/2013 at 15:54

        I live in the jungle and my companion is Tarzan. Kidding aside, I live in the Philippines. I was born and raised in the metro, though I have my fair share of travelling to our famed 7100+ islands. Some compare our rain forests like those in Latin America – lots of mosquitoes. (I have a bad sense of humor).

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          11/01/2013 at 17:52

          I enjoy your humour, I would love to go travelling and see some of the sights. Besides you can’t live with tarzan, he shares a place with me in my treehouse in Sherwood forest.

          Like

           

Tell me stuff...

 
